Sunday, June 28, 2020

Welcome Author, C.J. Lutton





\
CJ Lutton offers a fresh and exciting take on the Sherlockian canon. A true autodidact with an astonishing range of interests, CJ was an avid fan of Sherlock Holmes and a keen student of the Victorian era. 

As Kirkus Reviews says, "Lutton's speculative addition to Conan Doyle's world is far from elementary." CJ loved to write and has three additional Sherlock stories ready to come out. He also has penned other stories that are being worked on by our publisher, who has thoroughly enjoyed his talent, his work and wants to share it with the public and literary world.




A Tale of Two Authors: CJ Lutton and Me
By Joanna Campbell Slan

In the fall of last year, I was clothes shopping with my fashionista niece, Makenna Hutts, at TJ Maxx. A nice lady checked the number of garments I was going to try on. She and Makenna started talking. The woman's name is Roberta Lutton, and her late husband, CJ, had written a series of books. One had been published by a vanity press. But they didn't do a particularly stellar job, and the others were sitting in a drawer.

Roberta and I had a nice visit about publishing, and my niece bragged about my awards and my success.

Shortly after that, Roberta mailed me a copy of CJ’s published book. I could see many avenues for improvement—and I was agog at his fabulous imagination. After more discussion, Roberta and I decided to work together to realize CJ’s dream, seeing all four of his books published.


We began with Sherlock Holmes and the Father of Lies (Book# 1). When Sherlock Holmes’ brother is kidnapped, Sherlock and his good friend Dr. Watson has no choice but to track down his captor, Dracula, “The Father of Lies.” The chase is incredibly scenic and harrowing, as it takes the reader from the snowy streets of London to the sub-zero woods surrounding Niagara Falls. Theodore Roosevelt even makes a cameo appearance!

In Book #1 of The Confidential Files of Dr. John H. Watson, M.D. presents a macabre and thrilling saga of Dracula and the undead. The "first in the series" book takes readers on a whirlwind of travel and intrigue. You'll travel along with Holmes and Watson as they chase the immortal vampire through London's streets, across the Atlantic Ocean, and all the way to Niagara Falls. The astonishing conclusion takes place deep in another world, a subterranean universe complete with wretched souls clamoring to be set free.









 In Book #2, Sherlock Holmes and the Time Machine, Holmes encounters HG Wells and his friend Albert Einstein. The Time Machine has been stolen, but not before Wells has traveled into the future and brings back proof of the imminent deaths of Holmes and Watson. Can they figure out whodunit for a crime that hasn’t occurred?


Book 2 of the Confidential Files of Sherlock Holmes is a mind-bending page-turner, a literary triumph of logic. You'll follow Holmes's impeccable thought process as he delves into the future--and witnesses his own death. Along the way, bit players such as H. G. Wells and Albert Einstein make cameo appearances that add to the fun!












In Sherlock Holmes and the Nefarious Seafarers (Book #3/ July release), what seems like a simple case for Holmes is actually part of a plot to topple the English throne. To get to the bottom of things, Holmes not only visits the Queen in her bed-chamber, he also meets Jules Verne in the Nautilus, a submarine. Holmes and Watson must dive deep (literally) in a desperate attempt to prevent an attack on the British Fleet. 



The third book in a new series featuring Sherlock Holmes and John Watson.
In this continuation of a new twist to the Sherlock Holmes’ canon, Holmes and Watson reluctantly search for a missing sailor…and stumble on a sinister plan to embarrass and de-throne Queen Victoria. The two friends must work together as never before, in an adventure that takes them under the seas on a wild and harrowing chase to unravel a deadly mystery.
It begins innocently enough when Holmes and Watson respond to a wife’s plea to find her missing husband. The woman evokes Watson’s sympathy, but Holmes sees discrepancies that suggest she’s lying.
Why lie? And why such an elaborate ruse?
She’s told them about ships gone missing, supposedly after meeting a sea monster. Could that be what happened to her beloved spouse? Whilst investigating, Holmes and Watson quickly realize there’s mischief afoot. The highest levels of British government are behind the deaths of entire crews of sailors. But to what end? And how has this been kept this a secret so long?
The Queen has been lost in grief after the death of her much-loved friend, John Brown. Now she’s turned her attention to a new companion, her beloved Munshi, a simple man from India. There are those who would do anything to destroy this friendship and send that man away. But would they go so far as to murder innocent sailors whose only crime is serving the Crown? The answer is…maybe.
Holmes and Watson must rely on their wits, their bravery, and their friendship to accomplish their goal—saving the British fleet and preserving the reputation of Queen Victoria.
If you like historical thrillers with a hint of the supernatural, you’ll love this series. Each book stays true to Sherlock Holmes and his faithful friend, John Watson, whilst featuring a cast of real people and issues pertinent to the times.
This series is perfect for fans of Laurie R. King, Preston Child, and Joanna Penn.

Sherlock Holmes and the Giant Sumatran Rat (Book #4 / August release) begins when three young stowaways are stranded on a tropical island. In a bid to save their own lives, they make a horrifying choice. When they’re unexpectedly rescued and returned to England, that decision might cost them their lives—but first Holmes and Watson must contend with wicked elements of the British government who wants to use the three boys as lethal weapons.



The fourth book in a new series featuring Sherlock Holmes and John Watson, written by a USA Today and Amazon Bestselling Author.
The world was not prepared for this story, a conspiracy hatched in the highest levels of the British government. A rogue Minister of Defense plans to turn soldiers into blood-thirsty animals—and Holmes and Watson may be among their first victims.
The adventure starts when Holmes is warned away from investigating Jack the Ripper’s heinous crimes. Despite Holmes’ well-known skills, he is sidelined. He must content himself with a straightforward case, finding a bolting beau, the result of a simple lovers’ quarrel.
But that “romance gone wrong” is really the key to a nasty secret with tendrils reaching all the way to a Sumatran island. That’s where four castaways made a difficult decision. They turned their backs on a society that sent them packing and allowed themselves to be infected with a deadly virus. After all, they never expected to ever come home again… And they certainly never expected to be considered lethal weapons! Can Holmes and Watson stop them from being used for evil purposes?
This fast-paced adventure will take Holmes and Watson from the dregs of London to its noble heights. The two friends will travel from Bedlam, the hospital for the insane, to stately Windsor Park. Sherlock Holmes and the Giant Sumatran Rat is a fast-paced thrill ride that’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats. If you like historical thrillers with a hint of the supernatural, you’ll love this series. Each book stays true to Sherlock Holmes and his faithful friend, John Watson, whilst featuring a cast of real people and issues pertinent to the times.

Purchase

I’ve written my whole life, producing non-fiction, historical fiction, self-help, and cozy mysteries, but accepting this challenge plunged me headfirst into the world of THRILLERS! Admittedly, although I’ve always enjoyed Sherlock Holmes tales by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, I found them a wee bit dull. CJ Lutton’s rendering is anything but!

The language in the books is clean. There’s no graphic sex or violence. There is a fun touch of history, but not so much that it gets dull. The stories zip right along, and the settings are so real you feel like you’re actually there. All four books are available for purchase or pre-order. To introduce new readers to CJ Lutton, we’ve discounted the price of Sherlock Holmes and the Father of Lies to 99¢ for a short time.

Why not give them a whirl?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for leaving a comment on Bizwings Blog. Appreciate it.